Armchair Dragoons Forums

News:

• Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here
  • Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

News

Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here

Author Topic: Doctor Quest's Prop Shop  (Read 9562 times)

Doctor Quest

• Corporal
  • I'm not a real doctor.
on: September 10, 2022, 05:11:45 PM
The is my latest project, the Mandalorian's Amban phase-pulse blaster. This thing is a beast. Not only is it big, it has a fairly complicated paint scheme. It is a 3D printed Esty kit. There are more expensive kits that are sturdier but I really just wanted a display model and I went for a cheaper, more fragile kit. One of the better kits actually has hollow parts that cover an aluminum tube for better structural integrity. Prop replicas are an interesting business and you can end up spend A LOT OF MONEY on "hero" versions. On the other hand you can find reasonably priced knock-offs that can be repainted to look pretty good.

It was a lot of fun to work on and I won't claim it's perfect. I could probably do some more weathering (and I still may) but I wanted to move on to my next project and I think it looks at least acceptable.

I'll leave it at that. Nothing is more boring that listening to someone talk about an obscure hobby.  :idiot2:

"Everything you read on the internet is true." - Benjamin Franklin

"Something so addictive about the whole kill and loot dynamic, though." - Gusington

Silent Disapproval Robot

• Lancer
Reply #1 on: September 10, 2022, 08:00:49 PM
A disintegration rifle?  Are you trying to get raided by the Bureau of Alcohol, Deathsitcks, and Blasters? 

bayonetbrant

• Arrogance Mitigator & Event "Organizer"
  • Administrator
  • Staff Sergeant
  • Going mad, but at least going somewhere
    • Six Degrees of Radio
Reply #2 on: September 10, 2022, 08:07:29 PM