Armchair Dragoons Forums

News:

• Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here
  • Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

News

Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

Author Topic: FOCUS ON........................GMT's '194X' Series.  (Read 6744 times)

judgedredd

Reply #30 on: April 09, 2022, 05:51:46 PM
aye...will do. In the modelling section

Doctor Quest

• Corporal
  • I'm not a real doctor.
Reply #31 on: April 09, 2022, 09:25:14 PM
I did not mean to derail the thread. Thanks, JD.

"Everything you read on the internet is true." - Benjamin Franklin

"Something so addictive about the whole kill and loot dynamic, though." - Gusington

bbmike

• Warrant Officer
  • Lance Sergeant
    • My Own Worst Enemy
Reply #32 on: April 10, 2022, 11:56:36 AM
Designed by Mark Simonitch, there are now quite a few titles in the series with several re-prints plus some mounted maps.

All the games use a common core system, and are generally of the battalion / regimental scale. The map designs and counters graphics are, I think, very well done, with tthe map for 'Normandy '44' being a favourite of mine.

The list so far is as follows (correct me if I'm wrong) and in no particular order;

Normandy '44
Ardennes '44
France '40
Holland '44
Salerno '43
Stalingrad '42
Stalingrad Expansion
Ukraine '43
North Africa '41 which is a new addition and one that I will be keeping an eye on.

I can't admit to playing all of them, but the ones I have played I have found to be great games and very enjoyable, Normandy '44 being top my my list.

I'm sure many of you have some of these, so lets hear your thoughts.

So, having never played any of these, if you could choose just one which one would it be? Alternately, if I were going to buy just one, which do you recommend? Does it just depend on which battle I prefer?