Armchair Dragoons Forums

News:

• Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here
  • Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

News

Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here

Author Topic: Another wargamer's hobby: Prop replicas  (Read 3378 times)

Doctor Quest

• Corporal
  • I'm not a real doctor.
on: December 26, 2021, 05:51:44 PM
I have been collecting prop replicas for a number of years now. I really like science fiction weapons and I have a decent collection of Star Trek hardware. My other pride and joy is some great replicas of the famous U.N.C.L.E gun from the 1960 TV show. I also have a replica pen communicator from the same show. I also have a number of Airsoft “Bond” guns, notably the Walther PPK and P99 with silencer hardware.

I decided a few months ago to try my hand at the art of prop building. I want to be clear that this was for fun. I don’t consider myself a professional prop builder and I certainly don’t have a shop with ALL the right tools. Project One was the blaster from the original Blade Runner move. I was inspired by an Adam Savage video I stumbled across where he talked about a company that makes a 1:1 scale replica blaster squirtgun. I found the place and ordered one.

I removed the squirtgun barrel, added some weight via BBs and painted it up as best I could given the information available. Here is the result.

There are a couple of pieces that were added after the pix but you get the idea.

The frustrating thing about this weapon is I never really found a good explanation for how the fictional weapon was supposed to work. Why the two triggers? In the movie it appears to be projectile weapon firing what almost looks like a cannon round. It does some serious damage.