Armchair Dragoons Forums

News:

• Connections Online 2024 will be held 15-20 April, 2024 ~~ More Info here
  • Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

News

Buckeye Game Fest will be held May 2-5, 2024, with The War Room opening on 29 April ~~ More Info here

Author Topic: Molds and resin casting  (Read 5220 times)

Doctor Quest

• Corporal
  • I'm not a real doctor.
on: July 01, 2020, 01:23:56 PM
I don't know if this is the right spot for this but...............

Does anyone have any experience with molds and resin casting? I am working on a non-gaming project but I expect some folks out there might do their own castings of miniatures, etc.

I did the requisite googling and found some good information but like most googling and youtubing the amount of information can be overwhelming.

I am looking at duplicating some simple shapes so I think a single mold would be sufficient for this project. Here are some materials recommended by a youtuber I found.

Molds:

https://shop.smooth-on.com/mold-star-15-slow

Casting resin:

https://shop.smooth-on.com/smooth-cast-65d

Thanks in advance for any help. If this works I'll be taking orders for replica STTNG phaser 1s............ :biggrin:

"Everything you read on the internet is true." - Benjamin Franklin

"Something so addictive about the whole kill and loot dynamic, though." - Gusington

GROGnadsUSA

Reply #1 on: June 29, 2021, 03:56:36 PM